Current Award Winners

(Awarded in 2023)

Co-Founders Best Book Award

First Place
Gary Turner and Tami Turner-Revel
Award-Winning Cowboy Poetry, Historical Verse, and Rhapsodic Rhymes
Brand Book 25
Los Angeles Corral, Westerners International

Second Place
William P. MacKinnon and Kenneth L. Alford
Fact, Fiction, and Polygamy - A Tale of Utah War Intrigue, 1857-1858:
“A. G. Browne’s The Ward of the Three Guardians”
Tanner Trust Fund Publishing Series, Marriott Library, University of Utah

“Coke” Wood Award for Historical Monograph or Published Article

First Place
Doug Hocking
“The High Five Gang and the Death of Shoot ‘em Up Dick”
The Cochise County Historical Journal

Second Place
Brian D. Dillon and Richard Dillon
“Cherokee Miners on the Kern River”
The Branding Iron, No. 308, Fall 2022, LA Corral

Third Place
Caitlin M. Shain
“Lighting the Fire: Spokane Falls Volunteer Fire Department from 1883-1890”
The Pacific Northwesterner, Vol 66, Issue 1, April 2022

Phillip A. Danlelson Award for Best Presentation or Program
(award goes to the hosting corral or posse)

First Place
Llano Estacado Corral
Monica Hightower and Kathy Stonum, Sheriffs
For presentation by Monica Hightower, “Horses in War”

Second Place
Garden of the Sun Corral
Ed Marsh, Sheriff
For presentation by Brian Dervin Dillon,
“Old West Shooting Irons, 1542-1923”

Third Place
Denver Posse of The Westerners
Peg Williams, Sheriff
Presentation by Lee Whiteley, “The Glidden Tour of 1909”

Heads Up Award
Large Corral

The Pikes Peak Posse
Mike Arnett, Sheriff

Heads Up Award
Smaller Corral

The Jedediah Smith Corral
Cal Larive, Sheriff

Fred Olds Award for Cowboy Poetry

First Place
Abraham Hoffman
Boot Hill Anthology
Keepsake 56
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners

Second Place
Bob Spahle
“Christmas Wish,” “Poor Cowboy,” and “Proud Country Folk”
Fremont Street Mail
Cochise County Corral

Third Place
Patrick Mulvey “Woe is Me, PBC”
Keepsake 57
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners

Annual Awards