Corrals & Posses

2013 Award Winners

Co-Founders “Best Book” Award
1st Place: Roger L. Nichols, Adobe Corral, Tucson, Arizona
Warrior Nations: The United States and Indian Peoples
University of Oklahoma Press

2nd Place: John L. Kessell, Durango Corral, Colorado
Miera y Pacheco: A Renaissance Spaniard in Eighteenth-Century New Mexico
University of Oklahoma Press

3rd Place: Jeff Broome, Denver Posse, Colorado
Cheyenne War: Indian Raids on the Roads to Denver, 1864-1869
Aberdeen Books and Logan County Historical Society

"Coke" Wood Award for Monographs and Articles

1st Place: James E. Potter, Pine Ridge Corral, Chadron, Nebraska
A Peculiar Set of Men: Nebraska Cowboys of the Open Range
Nebraska History

2nd Place: Brian Dervin Dillon, Richard H. Dillon, & John Dervin Yi An Dillon, Los Angeles Corral, California
California, USA and the Birth of the Mexican Revolution
The California Territorial Quarterly

3rd Place: Brian Dervin Dillon, Los Angeles Corral, California
Fightin’ Bob Steams In
The California Territorial Quarterly

Philip A. Danielson Award for Best Programs

1st Place: Steve Lech, Los Angeles Corral, California
The Formation of Riverside County

2nd Place: Leslie Goddard, Chicago Corral, Illinois
Bertha Honore Palmer

3rd Place: Al Bates, Prescott Corral, Arizona
Prescott’s 1893 Railroad War

Fred Olds Western Poetry Award

1st Place: Tim Heflin, Los Angeles Corral, California
Thomas Nelson Baker 1831-1865
Los Angeles Corral

2nd Place: Gary Turner, Los Angeles Corral, California
The Battle Won?
Los Angeles Corral

Heads Up Award

Corrals Organized Prior to 1973
Prescott Corral, Prescott, Arizona
Tom Collins, Sheriff

Corrals Organized 1973 and Later
Bisbee Corral, Bisbee, Arizona
Doug Hocking, Sheriff

Overseas Corrals
English Westerners Society, London, England
Francis Taunton, Sheriff

Phi Alpha Theta Award for Best Dissertation

Brian Leech, PhD
University of Wisconsin

Westerners International University Chapter Scholarship Award

Rebekah Wagenbach, Triple R Corral
Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva, Oklahoma
Shawn Holliday, PhD, Sponsor

2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners