Corrals & Posses

2010 Award Winners

Co-Founders "Best Book" Award

1st Place: Jim Hoy, Kansas Corral
Cowboy’s Lament
Texas Tech University Press

2nd Place: John Boessenecker, San Francisco Corral
BANDIDO: The Life and Times of Tiburcio Vasquez
University of Oklahoma Press

3rd Place: Paul H. Carlson, Llano Estacado Corral
Myth, Memory, and Massacre
Texas Tech University Press

"Coke" Wood Award for Monographs and Articles

1st Place (tie): Robert J. Chandler, San Francisco Corral
1st Place (tie): Barbara Handy-Marchello, Fort Abraham Lincoln Corral

2nd Place: Paul W. Matthews, Indian Territory Posse

Philip A. Danielson Award for Best Programs

1st Place: Phil Brigandi, Los Angeles Corral

2nd Place: Patricia A. Etter, Scottsdale Corral

3rd Place: Anna Lee Ames Frohlich, Denver Posses

Fred Olds Western Poetry Award

1st Place: Pablo aka Paul McClure, San Dimas Corral

2nd Place: Bernice Landers, Jedediah Smith Corral

Heads Up Award

Corrals Organized Prior to 1973
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
Michael Patris, Sheriff

Corrals Organized 1973 and Later
San Dimas Corral, San Dimas, California
David Harbin, Sheriff

Overseas Corrals
Linz Corral, Linz, Austria
Hans Jorg Ratzenboeck, Sheriff

Best Doctoral Dissertation in Western U. S. History by a graduate student member of Phi Alpha Theta
Margaret Bickers, PhD
Kansas State University
Three Cultures, Four Hooves and One River: The Canadian River in Texas and New Mexico, 1848-1939

2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners