Corrals & Posses

2016 Award Winners

Co-Founders “Best Book” Award
1st Place:
Glen Sample Ely, The Texas Frontier and the Butterfield Overland Mail, 1858-1861 (Norman, Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Press, 2016)

2nd Place:
Charlotte Hinger, Nicodemus: Post Reconstruction Politics and Racial Justice in Western Kansas (Norman Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Press, 2016)>

Coke Wood Award for Monographs & Articles
1st Place:
Kevin McReady, "The Story of Montana's Fur-Bearing Trout"
Member of Northwest Montana Posse

2nd Place:
Brian Dervin Dillon, Ph.D."Sports at the Forts"
Member of the Los Angeles Corral of Westerners

3rd Place:
Janolyn G. Lo Vecchio, B.S. Ed,
"Dr. Clara Schell: Pioneer Arizona Territory Optometrist, Suffragette, and Community Leader" Member of the Adobe Corral, Tucson, AZ

Philip A. Danielson Award for Best Programs
1st Place:
“Life and Times of Tom Jeffords,” Cochise County Corral

2nd Place:
“Sheriff Big Joe Nanger and Shootout at McCarthyville,” Northwest Montana Posse, Kalispell, MT

3rd Place:
“A Historical Perspective of the Westerners – Who, When, Where, How and Why,” Denver Posse

Fred Olds Western Poetry Award
1st Place:
Gary Turner, LA Corral, for five poems in Westerners Los Angeles Corral Cowboy Poetry Keepsake: "Bucking Horse and Bronc Rider,” "Cowboy Reality," "One Bad Bull," “The New Hat Band,” and “The Three-Legged Pig”

2nd Place:
Tim Heflin, LA Corral, for two poems in Los Angeles Corral Cowboy Poetry Keepsake “The Sage of the Store” and “Coso, the Clamper Jackass”

Heads Up Award
Top Foreign Corral: “English Westerners Society” of London, England
Top Small Corral: “Jedediah Smith Corral” of Hot Springs, South Dakota
Top Large Corral: “Los Angeles Westerners Corral” of San Gabriel, California

Westerners University Chapter Scholarship Award for Academic & Leadership Excellence
Ashley Wilson, Graduate Student, Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Corral sponsor: Triple R Corral

2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners