Corrals & Posses

(Awarded in 2020)

Co-Founders Best Book Award

First Place
Doug Hocking, Terror on the Santa Fe Trail: Kit Carson and the Jicarilla Apache
Two Dot Press, 2019
Cochise Corral

Second Place (tie)
Geraldine Knatz, with Foreword by William F. Deverell, Port of Lost Angeles: Conflict, Commerce, and the Fight for Control, Angel City Press and Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West, 2019
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners

Second Place (tie)
Peter H. Hassrick, The Life and Art of Joseph Henry Sharp, Buffalo Bill Center of the West, 2019
Awarded posthumously
Pahaska Corral

Third Place
Marian Ann J. Montgomery, Cotton and Thrift: Feed Sacks and the Fabric of American Households, Texas Tech University Press, 2019
Llano Estacado Corral

“Coke” Wood Award for Historical Monograph or Published Article

First Place
Elaine Marie Nelson, “Draft by Draft”: The Battle of Sandoz and Her Big Horn Manuscript,” Great Plains Quarterly, Vol 39, No 2, Univ. Nebraska Press, 2019
Omaha Corral

Second Place
Susan Wefald, “Convincing the Men: North Dakota’s Woman Suffrage Campaign, 1912-20,” North Dakota History, Vol 84, No. 2, Winter 2019
Fort Abraham Lincoln Corral

Third Place
*Brian Dervin Dillon, “Cowboys of Science Say ‘Make Mine Mules,’” The Branding Iron, No 295, Summer 2019, Los Angeles Corral of the Westerners.
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners

Phillip A. Danlelson Award for Best Presentation or Program
(award goes to the hosting corral or posse)

First Place
Llano Estacado Corral
“Osage Slaughter” presented by David Lanehart

Second Place
Denver Posse
“Major Brisbin’s Fort Pease Relief: Humanitarian Action or Commercial Boondoggle,” presented by Dennis Hagen

Third Place
Jedediah Smith Corral
“Kit Carson,” presented by Uriah Luallin

Heads Up Award
Large Corral

Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners,

Heads Up Award
Smaller Corral

Utah Westerners

Fred Olds Award for Cowboy Poetry

First Place
Abraham Hoffman, “Drifter,” Work Horse,” “Ode to a Western Outhouse,”
Los Angeles Corral Keepsake 50, 2019
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners

Second Place
Gary Turner, “Lonesome Cowboy,” “The Deadly Northwind,” “The Sourdough’s Advice,” Los Angeles Corral- Keepsake 50, 2019
Los Angeles Corral of The Westerners


2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners